Unanswered, Does Not God Hear Me?

 

Unanswered

Unanswered, does your prayer remain,                                                                                                   Though oft with tears you plead?                                                                                                                 And watch and wait and wonder if                                                                                                           God does not care or heed?                                                                                                           Unanswered? Well, perhaps, dear heart,                                                                                                   You may have asked amiss;                                                                                                                            Is it God’s glory that you seek,                                                                                                                     Or selfish avarice?

___Annie Woodworth___

 

And He spake a parable unto them to this end, that men ought always to pray, and not to faint.

Why is it that God does not give to us the very first time we ask Him, the things that we ask of Him?  The answer is plain: God would do more for us, and better for us than to merely give us that thing.  He would do us the far greater good of training us into persistent faith.  The things that we get by our other forms of effort than payer to God, do not always become  ours the first time we make an effort to get them; for our own good, God compels us to be persistent in our effort, and just so God does not always give us what we ask in prayer the first time we pray.  Just as He would train us to be strong men and women along the other lines of effort, so also He would train to be and make us to be strong men and women of prayer by compelling us to pray hard for the best things.  He compels us to “Pray through,”

___R.A. Torrey___

 

It is good, I find, to persevere in attempts to pray,  If I cannot pray with perseverance or continue long in my addresses to the Divine Being, I have found that the more I do in secret prayer the more I have delight to do, and have enjoyed more of the spirit of prayer; and frequently I have found the contrary, when by journeying or otherwise, I have been deprived of retirement,.

___David Brainerd___

 

If we are to be in the “Holy Spirit” when we pray, and praise Him ALWAYS, when we pray, and ALWAYS give HIM all the glory.  In doing so, then why are our prayers not granted?  Prayers must be activated by faith.  And remember you cannot say the Lord’s Prayer and ever once say “I”. It is not MY will but THINE. The Bible contains so many specific and explicit directions regarding prayer, as well as promises.

 

Do we have a critical spirit?  Do we sometimes feel the Holy Spirit is not with us or in church, when others’ feel His presence?  Ephesians 8:11 tells how He gifts His church.  And He gave some, Apostles, some Prophets, and some Evangelists, and some Pastors. One of the purpose of the “gifts” of the spirit is for the perfecting of the Saints, for the work of the Ministry, for edifying of the Body of Christ. Eph 4:12   vs. 14 That we henceforth be no more children tossed to and fro, and carried about with every wind of doctrine, by the sleight of men and cunning craftiness, whereby they lie in wait to deceive.  Which is why a prophet has to be ordained by God, and through your church, elders and Pastors.  You cannot just blatantly yell something out disrupting a service, if it does not flow with the spirit of God.  Else false prophets can be allowed to blare out that which is not only a distraction to the service, not the real word of God and HIS will.   For what you tolerate you cannot change.  Proverbs 16:2 All the ways of a man are clean in his OWN eyes, but, the Lord weighs by the “spirit”!  Proverbs 27:2 Let another man praise you and not your own mouth, a stranger and not your own lips.  Matthew 7:15 Beware of false prophets, which come to you in sheep’s clothing, but inwardly they are ravening wolves.  Some are Satan’s greatest weapon’s.  Which is why a church has to have discipline during a service.

Vs 16 Ye shall know them by their fruits.  Wherefore if they harbor hates, are discontent, always finding fault, always, I, my , me… They are not of God but, self.

 

God is never unreasonable or irrational.  He is also never illogical.  And if God gave every individual every answer to every prayer that might pop into his head, the world would be filled almost immediately with anarchy, chaos, and confusion.  He also will never grant a prayer if it would hurt another person, or stir up more strife. It is HIS timetable not ours.  That is why too, as I have written on this blog, on enemies, we are always to pray for them, and pray blessings on them and forgive them.  Those things get us out of our hates, doldrums, and self.  Then it is lifted from us and the burden lies with the enemy.  Sounds simple, but, it’s hard, but it works.  And you’ll feel your spirit lighten.  In other words let go and let God.  How I’ve learned through the years…and sometimes, through a lot of reprimand. For I took correction.

 

THE LORD’S PRAYER

You cannot say the Lord’s Prayer and ever one say “I”;

You cannot pray the Lord’s Prayer and ever once say “my”;

Nor can you pray the Lord’s Pray and not pray for one another,

For when you ask for daily bread you must include your brother;

For “others” are included in each and every plea,

From beginning to the end of it, it does not every once say”me.”

___Author Unknown__

 

CAN I SAY THE LORD’S PRAYER?

I cannot say, “our,” if I live in a watertight spiritual compartment; if I think a special place in         heaven is reserved for my denomination.

I cannot say, “Father,” if I do not demonstrate the relationship in my daily life.

I cannot say, “Which art in Heaven, “If I am so occupied with earth that I am not laying up treasure over there.

I cannot say, “Hallowed be thy name”, if I, who am called by His name, am not holy.

I cannot say, “Thy will be done,” if I am questioning, resentful, or disobedient to His will for me.

I cannot say, “Give us this day our daily bread,” if I am living on past experiences.

I cannot say, “forgive us our debts, as we forgive our debtors,” if I harbor a grudge against anyone.

I cannot say, “lead us not into temptation,” if I deliberately place myself or remain in a position where I am likely to be tempted.

I cannot say, “Deliver us from evil,” if I am not prepared to fight it in the spiritual realm with the weapon of prayer.

I cannot say, “Thine is the Kingdom,” if I don’t give the King the disciplined obedience of a loyal subject.

I cannot say, Thine is the…glory,,” If I am seeking glory for myself.

I cannot say, “Forever,” if my horizons are bond of things of time.

I cannot say, “Amen, “ if I do not also add, “Cost what it may,” for to say this prayer honestly…will cost everything,

___Brother W.M. Gass__   (Acts29)

 

I HAD NO TIME

The day slipped by and time was spent.                                                                                                     And all the good things that I meant                                                                                                         To do were let undone because                                                                                                                    I had no time to stop and pause,                                                                                                                  But rushed about, went here and there,                                                                                                  Did this and that, was everywhere. I had no time to kneel and pray.                                                    I had no time to meditate.                                                                                                                              On worthwhile things, no time to wait                                                                                                Upon the Lord and hear Him say;                                                                                                               “Well done, my child,” at close of day.                                                                                                       And so I wonder, after all,                                                                                                                     When life is o’er and I hear the call                                                                                                               To meet my Savior in the sky,                                                                                                                       Where saints live and never die,                                                                                                                  If I will find one soul I’ve won                                                                                                                       To Christ by some small deed I’ve done,                                                                                                 Or will I hang my had and whine,                                                                                                              “Forgive me, Lord, I had no time”?

—Mrs. Herbert Bell—

 

HIS FACE

Oh, Father God, as I pray and seek your face,                                                                                    How wonderful thou art and how I yearn for you everlasting grace,                                                    We have so much to be thankful for in this great land of ours,                                                              And yet, we’re never satisfied, for our hunger is not yours,                                                              For you desire us to be longing  for your word,                                                                                    When the things of the world take our time and lure,                                                                            The false piety we need to rid, to come back to the Cross,                                                                    And seek your face in humility too, lest we stay forever lost.

—J E Worthen 2002—

 

***”Waiting” implies a time of conquering, controlling, disciplining the restless spirit, quieting ourselves, being silent with a holy, spiritual silence, and just being in His presence. “Be still and know that I am God,” is a quote from God to David found in Psalms 46:10  Stop, be quiet, wait in His presence and upon God, not mere daydreaming, but total concentration and quietness.” Ps 119:148

**Excerpts from JSM old prayer manual

 

