Perseverance In Christ

images54Does God test us?  Does He let us go through tests and trials to strengthen our faith?  Yes!  When we come to Christ in salvation, life does not necessarily mean it is going to be happily ever-after.  That is one problem I always had with the false prosperity message.  Prosperity means, spirituality not necessarily money.  If we are asked to leave all and follow Christ, then it would not stand to reason that Jesus would on the other hand want us to concentrate on getting rich.  My Lord has never failed me even in times of adversity, from the time I came on my knees asking him to come into my life.  

Years back, I remember how stirred I was  at the prayer wall on Godtube, all the needs that go on unending.  I pray for every need and that we all take a lesson from Job and again in the New Testament from Paul, who even served time in jail, and was literally kicked out of many towns, he preached.  To serve Christ requires giving up on self, and doing His will not ours. Having humility and a humble spirit, yet also having the boldness to fight (in Christ’s righteousness) for what is right and what we believe in.

Its not by faith but by my spirit, thus sayeth the Lord.  WE CAN do all things in Christ who strengthens us.  God wants (Ephesians) for us to put on the whole armour of God.  I went through it all…abuse in my 20’s, even thrown out of a car 5 months pregnant, financial ups and downs, the birth at 40 of my youngest child, who was later bi-polar and committed suicide at 19.  I wanted to die,like Elijah under the juniper tree. This handsome young man broke my heart.  Did I  blame God? No..but, I had to heal and be alone only with HIM for nearly 3 1/2 years  in my creative world, and the talents HE gave me…and I had a mini stroke in the process, but He never left me. I thank God every day my BJ was saved at 11.

And I’m still standing, stronger in my Faith than ever, now in my mid 70’s , and I know if I can get through it all, so can everyone who is going through tests and trials.   I am not just a survivor, I am victorious in Christ!  I AM an overcomer in Christ, who strengthens me, never left me, and built me up in His image as a testimony for His word.  And THAT is what it is all about..To be molded like clay in His image, requires, prayer, faith, sometimes deep pain, trust, love, and endurance.   So whatever anyone who reads this is going through? Get in the word, be in a good church, and NEVER quit! 

 And now when I hear of someones hardship, or someone suffering with a child who has mental health problems, or another family whose child committed suicide, or lost a child by illness or death, NOW I can witness God’s love and give them the information and Word they need…for I’ve been there.  In Psalm 116, the person was in danger of death, so he cried out to the Lord for deliverance; and the Lord rescued him.  Vs. 15 “Precious in the sight of the Lord is the death of his saints.”  Death is not cheap with God…It is NOT an accident, even by a car or  murder, or suicide and THAT helped me tremendously.  Over and over I thank God  my son was saved.  Before he did this act in a full blown manic attack and depression, it first passed through the sovereign hands of God.   For HE will not permit the death of one of His children to be treated with disdain and contempt.  His children are precious and purchased by the blood of Jesus at that cross. 

And my Lord shed tears too, for the blood my son shed in debilitation…his homecoming was not chance or fate..But, as death is a mystery..one day we will know why, for it too, is a devine fate.  As death is a mystery, one day we will know why, for it too is a devine provision of grace.  (Excerpts from “Comforting the Bereaved” by David and Warren Wiersbe.   For  God loves each and every hair on your head…Come unto me all ye who are heavy laden, and I will give you rest…Amen  “The Sorrows of death compassed me, and the floods of ungodly men made me afraid.  The sorrows of hell compassed me about, the snares of death prevented me.  In my distress I called upon the Lord and cried unto my God, he heard my voice out of His temple, and my cry came before him, even into his ears.”  Psalms 18:4-6.    

Beth Stuckwisch wrote this poem in 1984:

” When I come home to Heaven How joyful it will be,
For on that day at last My risen Lord I’ll see.
No greater happiness than to see Him face to face,
To see the Love in His eyes and feel His warm embrace.
I’ve done nothing to deserve that perfect home above,
It was given freely through the grace of Jesus love.
Then why should earthly cares weigh down upon me so?
They’ll be a distant memory when home at last I go.”

Many don’t understand the concept of delayed reward.  Some think that pain is the exception in the Christian life.   But, we live in a world filled with suffering, even for believers.  God is still in control, even if we don’t feel like He is.  He allows some to experience a trail with much hardship and others to trod an easier, less painful road.  While we are on earth, we may never see the purpose of our suffering and loss but, you can be assured that God will keep His promises to you.  In times of pain, persecution, or suffering, you may long for an easier route.  However, by surrendering each fear, doubt, expectation and tear to Him you can in faith, look forward to what the rest of the story will bring….in Heaven.

God will never let us go through more than HE knows we can handle.  I Corinthians 10:13  “There is no temptation taken you but such as is common to man but God is faithful who will not let you suffer more than you are able, but will  with that temptation also make a way to escape that you may be able to bear it.”   The CROSS is ALWAYS the Way.  (Ephesians 6:10-18).   Every choice we make, as I made having this last son at 40 and marrying his father also unbeknownst to me, bi-polar, had a price.  Remember that.  EVERY CHOICE we make has a consequence good or bad.  If anyone who reads this is going through such pain I can assure you that if you get into the Word of God and give yourself to Christ, He will help you with your situation.  If my Jesus could heal me and get me through my son’s horrific death, He can help and heal you too. but, the choice is always yours.  Thank you Jesus.

Leave a Reply

