Friends

b0f76f58e7602732“Their marriage was good, their dreams focused.  Their best friends lived barely a wave away.  I can see them now.  Dad in trousers tee shirt and hat, working on the lawn mower, and Mom in a house dress, dish-towel in her hand.  It was a time for fixing things.  A curtain rod, the kitchen radio, screen door, the oven door, the hem in a dress, and my dad always working on stereos and tv’s.  Things we kept.

It was a way of life, and sometimes it made me crazy.  All that re-fixing, always renewing.  I wanted just once to be wasteful.   Waste meant affluence.  Throwing away, meant there would always be more.

But, then my mother, (both in my “memories album”) died in 1976, and on that clear summer’s night, in the silence of my room (I was divorced), I was struck with the pain of learning that sometimes there isn’t any more.

Sometimes, what we care about most gets all used up and goes away….never to return.  So…While we have it, it’s best we love it.  And care for it…And FIX it when it’s broken (like relationships).   And heal it when it’s sick.

This is true.  For marriage, and old cars, and children with bad report cards.  Dogs and cats with bad hips, and aging parents, and grandparents.  We keep them because they are worth it, because we are worth it.  Some things we keep.  Like a best friend that moved away of a classmate we grew up with.  There are just some things that make life important, like people who are special.  And so, we keep them close!

Good friends are like stars…You don’t always see them, but you know they are there. ”  I received this as an email (author unknown) which I added some of my own thoughts; someone who thinks I am a “keeper”, so I’ve included it here on this blog, to see if you too, have “keepers” in your life.

I remember too, during WWII when my mother collected and kept rags and nylons for the “ragman” who came once in awhile in a horse and wagon.  The nylons were made into parachutes and who knows what happened to the rags.  Now instead of fixing as we used to do, our things are made in China and other places.  Instead of fixing, and the American dream, we have to throw out, as the plastic pieces are all cheap and crack and break like America is now!  We have become a society that is into immediate self gratification, and frivolity, and waste, a peoples that never fix, and always buy, buy, buy.   We lack vision and dreams in our young people, as well as imagination, caring, and love.  China’s waters don’t like our ships there, making sure they don’t turn on us.  Yet, who do we now owe our trillions to?  This is not the America I grew up in.  Fixing used to be fun; from a screen door, to my Dad fixing radios.  (He was an electronics engineer and had his own shop.) But, nothing is made now to last or be fixable.  My mom had the same vacuum cleaner for 35 years.  I’m going on my 4th in 12 years!  And unless our relationships are made to last, we will have nothing, including our country.  We all need to think about what is important to us.  Else we are left with an empty shell.

Thank you Lord, for this reminder, and help us to change and realize what is important!

Leave a Reply

